From the sketchbook: Weekly scribble

Uncategorized

 

IMG_5704

I titled this scribble “I copied it out of a magazine” because I get cynical about lacking creative originality and anxious about perceptions of plagiarism.

Anyone involved in art practice and theory knows that much good art is theft and re-creation – hell, they teach you that at university.

“Good artists copy, great artists steal.” – Pablo Picasso

When I run low on creative ideas/inspiration/steam, I try to find designs, patterns and illustrations that resonate with me, and redraw them for practice.

The picture was in Tattoo Candy (Down Under, p. 62) accredited to a tattooist called ‘Nikas’. I don’t usually tend to like the tattoo designs of women but this one was beautiful without being offensive.

I’m not in love with this hack, but hey, it’s a start!

R.

One thought on “From the sketchbook: Weekly scribble

Leave a Reply

