From the Sketchbook: A product of procrastination

Arts

It has been quite a stretch between posts now, but instead of stressing over the unfinished, well-intentioned pieces that have been stacking up in my hard-drive for the last few weeks, I decided to do some guilt-free procrastination, and draw instead.

In the last week, I’ve been working on something different – a concept for an acrylic painting that thumbs its’ nose at depleted inspiration and creative block. I wanted to share it (because accountability is the very basis of my productivity at this point), so here are a few snapshots of it. Think of this as a teaser.

IMG_5651

I don’t want to give too much about it away because I have high hopes for the finished product, and if I try and go too much into it, the whole concept will likely explode into proverbial confetti before the words make it to the screen. It is a style completely different to my paintings in the past – which were mostly block coloured, acrylic stencil portraits.

The drawing originally started out as a doodle, but after countless hours of focused spontaneity, a painful blister on my middle finger and 2 callouses from gripping the pencil, it has grown into a little piece that merges words and illustrations in a ‘F. You’ to the uninspired feelings one experiences during creative block.

IMG_5652

Lettering is a big aspect to this piece. I’ve always enjoyed lettering but I lost faith in my own drawing skills after high school. With the digitisation of art, we have seen a huge growth in the lettering ideas and resources on the internet. I stopped needing to be creative with lettering and lost touch with it as an art form, because I could Google any number of fonts.

Until working on this piece, I had forgotten how fun and how powerful illustrating words can be. By incorporating words into pictures and pictures into words, it’s easy to convey several meanings and ideas in one image. It also increases the impact of the written message. Some people might suggest that it is anti-art to use obvious symbols or to try and communicate too much through those symbols, but I say if your art is for you and your own self-expression, who cares what the art purists think?

IMG_5655

Illustrated lettering is great because it allows me to express the many edges of thought that goes into the design.

It’s also heaps of fun to doodle and feel those pangs of inspiration rise in you as you move around the page!

IMG_5653

Once I’ve finished filling in a few parts of the drawing, I’ll paint it using watered-down acrylics, and sharpen with an ink pen. I’m very, VERY excited to see the finished product, but determined not to rush the process in order to get the finer details as perfect as I have thought them out in my mind!

Thanks for reading, and stay tuned for the finished product!

(P.S. Apologies for the dodgy pics…some things are just rushed is all!)

R.

2 thoughts on “From the Sketchbook: A product of procrastination

Leave a Reply

